SRH won the IPL 2016.

On 29th May 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad won their maiden IPL title by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner won the toss and decided to bat first. Warner and Shikhar Dhawan got the team off to a flying start putting the pressure on RCB bowlers right from word go. At the end of six overs, both openers raced to 59 for 0.

After the power play overs, SRH lost their first wicket in the form of Shikhar Dhawan for 28 off 25 balls. Dhawan and Warner added 63 runs in 6.4 overs. Warner led from the front and played with positive intent. On the other hand, Moises Henriques struggled scoring just 4 runs.

After the fall of Henriques wicket, Yuvraj Singh joined in and kept on the momentum with clean hitting. Warner completed his fifty off 24 balls.

Warner fell for a superb 69 off 38 balls. SRH lost the wickets of Deepak Hooda, Yuvraj Singh, Naman Ojha and Bipul Sharma. Ben Cutting was simply sensational as he scored a quickfire 39 off 15 balls and added 34 runs with Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the 8th wicket. Kumar contributed just 1 run. SRH posted a competitive total of 208 for 7 in 20 overs.

Royal Challengers Bangalore openers Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli took on the SRH bowlers right from the word go. With things looking difficult for SRH, Ben Cutting made the breakthrough dismissing the dangerous Chris Gayle. SRH bowlers made a strong comeback into the game and kept on picking wickets at regular intervals. They restricted RCB to 200 for 7 to win the match by 8 runs in a high scoring thriller. Ben Cutting was the pick of the bowlers for SRH with 2 for 35, Brainder Sran and Bipul Sharma 1 wicket each, 2 were run outs.

The Journey of SRH in IPL 2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad had a mixed bag tournament in the league finishing 3rd. They won 8 matches and lost 6. David Warner led side had faced Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator played on 25th May at Feroz Shah Kotla. They fought back strongly after posting a modest total and won the match by 22 runs to qualify for the 2nd Qualifier.

In the 2nd qualifier, it was another great performance by SRH who defeated Gujarat Lions by 4 wickets played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, New Delhi on 27th May.

SRH captain David Warner led from the front as he scored 848 runs from 17 matches (17 innings) with 9 half-centuries to his name. His best score in the tournament was 93. His opening partner Shikhar Dhawan also contributed to the success with 501 runs from 17 matches (17 innings) with 4 half-centuries with best score of 82.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar finished as the Purple Cap as he took 23 wickets from 17 matches (17 innings) at an economy of 7.42 runs per over. His best figures in the tournament were 4/29. The left handed fast bowler from Bangladesh Mustafizur Rahman also took 17 wickets from 16 matches (16 innings) with an economy of 6.90 runs per over. His best figures in the tournament were 3/16.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here