India vs Pakistan.

The Indian Cricket Team showed their dominance defeating Pakistan in the World Cup game played at Old Trafford, Manchester on 16th June last year.

Pakistani captain Sarfaraz Ahmed won the toss and decided to field first. The decision backfired as Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul played with caution in the initial stages. Rohit took the attack and played with positive intent. At the end of 10 overs, India scored 53 for 0.

Pakistan got a golden chance to run out Rohit Sharma as Shahdab Khan throw went wide off the wicketkeeper. The explosive opener completed his fifty off 34 balls. On the other hand, KL Rahul looked solid with his stroke play. Fakhar Zaman missed a chance to run out as he threw the ball on the wrong end.

Rahul was superb with his stroke play against the spinners. Finally, Pakistan got the breakthrough dismissing KL Rahul for 57. Rahul and Rohit Sharma put on 136 runs in 23.5 overs to lay a strong foundation. Kohli made the batting look easy and rotated the gave most of the strike to Rohit Sharma.

It was an amazing knock by Rohit who completed his century off 85 balls and kept on hitting the Pakistani bowlers. Rohit was dismissed for a superb 140 off 113 balls. Rohit and Kohli added 98 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Hardik Pandya was promoted to number 4 in the batting order to continue the momentum. The Indian captain Kohli reached his fifty off 51 balls. After completing his fifty, Kohli and Pandya took on the Pakistani bowling attack. Both added 51 runs for the 3rd wicket before Mohammad Aamir dismissed Pandya.

Pakistan were 305 for 4 when the rain arrived. After the rain break, Kohli was dismissed for 77. by Aamir. Vijay Shankar and Kedar Jadhav played cameos adding an unbeaten 22 runs for the 6th wicket to help India post a mammoth total of 336 for 5 in 50 overs.

Chasing 337 runs to win, it was not an ideal start for Pakistan as they lost an early wicket of Imam-ul-Haq who was dismissed by Vijay Shankar. Bhuvneshwar Kumar could not bowl due to an injury. Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam were cautious against the Indian bowlers. At the end of 10 overs, Pakistan scored 38 for 1.

Fakhar and Babar showed intent against the Indian bowlers with the run-rate climbing. The explosive left-handed batsman Fakhar completed his fifty off 59 balls. Kuldeep Yadav produced a beauty to dismiss Babar Azam. Babar and Fakhar added 104 runs for the 2nd wicket. The Indian bowlers kept on picking wickets at regular intervals. With the score reading 166 for 6, rain arrived again.

After the rain break, Pakistan needed 136 off 30 balls which were a foregone conclusion. India won the match by a massive 89 runs via DLS method.

For his 140 off 113 balls, Rohit Sharma was awarded the man of the match. After meeting for the first time in the 1992 World Cup, India has defeated Pakistan for seven successive times in World Cups. India 336 for 5 in 50 overs ( Rohit Sharma 140, Kohli 77, Mohammad Aamir 3/47) beat Pakistan 212 for 6 in 40 overs ( Fakhar Zaman 62, Babar Azam 48, Imad Wasim 46*, Kuldeep Yadav 2/32, Vijay Shankar 2/22) by 89 runs via DLS method.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here