Deccan Chargers were crowned IPL champions in 2009. (Source: Twitter)

Under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist, Deccan Chargers became the Champions of IPL 2009 as they defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore played at Wanders, Johannesburg on 24th May.

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Anil Kumble won the toss and decided to field first. Deccan Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist was dismissed off the 3rd ball of the innings by Anil Kumble. Chargers lost their 2nd wicket in the form of T Suman.

Andrew Symonds looked in fluent touch right from word go and put pressure on RCB bowlers. Both Symonds and Gibbs added 40 runs for the 3rd wicket before Symonds was bowled by Kumble.

Rohit Sharma came to the crease and took the attack to RCB bowlers. On the other hand, Gibbs kept the momentum going. Rohit and Gibbs added 52 runs for the 4th wicket. With wickets falling at the other end, Gibbs reached his fifty off 47 balls and remained not out on 53 off 48 balls. Deccan Chargers posted 143 for 6 in 20 overs.

Royal Challengers Bangalore openers Jacques Kallis and Manish Pandey began off to a steady start before RP Singh got the breakthrough getting the wicket of Kallis. Pragyan Ojha got two big wickets of Manish Pandey and Roelf Van der Merwe. With the scoreboard reading 99 for 4, Andrew Symonds dismissed Ross Taylor and Virat Kohli in the same over. Chargers bowlers kept picking wickets at regular intervals to restrict Royal Challengers Bangalore at 137 for 9. Pragyan Ojha was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 28, Harmeet Singh and Andrew Symonds taking 2 wickets each.

Despite Royal Challengers Bangalore on the losing side, Anil Kumble was named the man of the match.

The Journey of Deccan Chargers in IPL 2009

Deccan Chargers had a mixed league stage winning 7 and losing 7 matches. They had the same number of points with Kings XI Punjab, but due to a better net run rate, Deccan Chargers qualified for the semi-finals stage.

In the first semi-finals against Delhi Daredevils on 22nd May at Super Sports Park, Centurion, Chargers restricted Delhi to 153 for 8 in 20 overs. Thanks to Adam Gilchrist 85 off 35 balls, they won the match by six wickets with 20 balls to spare.

Adam Gilchrist was the 2nd leading run-getter in IPL 2009. He scored 495 runs from 16 matches (16 innings) with 3 half-centuries. His best score was 85*. Herschelle Gibbs also performed brilliantly with 371 runs from 14 matches (14 innings) with 4 half-centuries.

The left pace bowler Rudra Pratap Singh finished as the leading wicket-taker with 23 wickets from 16 matches (16 innings). He went to an economy of 6.98 runs per over and had the best figures of 4/22. Pragyan Ojha took 18 wickets from 15 matches (15 innings) at an economy of 6.50 runs per over. Ojha’s best figures in the tournament were 3/21. He played a key role in the finals against Royal Challengers Bangalore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here