CSK won the 2018 IPL.

After a two-year suspension due to match-fixing, Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 27th May 2018.

Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to field first. It did not start well for SRH as Sreevats Goswami was run-out while taking 2nd run. Kane Williamson and Shikhar Dhawan looked positive with their stroke play. At the end of six overs, SRH was 42 for 1.

After the power play overs, Williamson and Dhawan put the pressure back on CSK bowlers. Ravindra Jadeja provided the breakthrough dismissing Dhawan for 26. Dhawan and Williamson added 51 runs for the 2nd wicket. Shakib AL Hasan came to the crease and showed intent right from word go.

When things looked for SRH, Karn Sharma got the big wicket of Williamson for 47. SRH batsmen struggled to score runs with good tight bowling by CSK bowlers. Carlos Braithwaite joined in and hit some lusty blows with a quickfire 21 off 11 balls. Pathan and Braithwaite added 34 runs for the 6th wicket.

Chasing 179 runs to win, Shane Watson could not score any runs for 10 balls. Faf du Plessis also struggled for timing as he made 10 off 11 balls. Suresh Raina came to the crease and looked aggressive with his intent. At the end of six overs, CSK were 35 for 1.

Watson took on the SRH bowlers and smashed them to all parts of the ground. He reached his fifty off 33 balls. Raina made an impressive 32 off 24 balls. Watson and Raina added 117 runs for the 2nd wicket.

There was no looking back for Watson as he completed dominated the SRH bowlers and completed his century off 51 balls. It was an amazing knock by the hard-hitting all-rounder from Australia who remained not out on 117 off 57 balls with 11 fours and 8 sixes. He and Rayudu added unbeaten 48 runs for the 3rd wicket which helped CSK win the 2018 IPL title by 8 wickets with 9 balls to spare.

Journey of CSK in 2018
Chennai Super Kings had an outstanding comeback in the IPL after a two-year suspension. They finished on 18 points but due to the negative run rate, CSK finished 2nd.

In the qualifier 1, CSK defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 2 wickets in a thrilling encounter played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 22nd May.

Ambati Rayudu was the leading run-getter for CSK in the 2018 edition. He scored 602 runs from 16 matches (16 innings) with 1 century and 3 half-centuries. Shane Watson contributed brilliantly for CSK with 555 runs from 15 matches ( 15 innings) with 2 centuries and 2 half-centuries. Both Rayudu and Watson were in the top 5 run-getters. MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina also had a superb season with the bat.

CSK bowling was not up to the mark in the 2018 edition as he was the only bowler to finish in the top 10 leading wicket- takers. Shardul Thakur took 16 wickets from 13 matches (13 innings) with an economy of 9.23 runs per over.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here