Perth Scorchers win. (Source: Twitter)

Perth Scorchers have captured the Big Bash League 2021-22 (BBL 2021-22 Final). In the final played at Melbourne’s Docklands Stadium, Perth defeated Sydney Sixers (Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers, Final) by 79 runs in a one-sided fashion. Batting first, Perth Scorchers scored 171 for 6 in 20 overs, in reply Sydney Sixers’ batting collapsed like a pack of cards. Sydney Sixers were bundled out for just 92 runs in 16.2 overs. Let us tell you that the hero of Perth Scorchers’ victory was Laurie Evans, who scored an unbeaten 76 in 41 balls. Captain Ashton Turner also played an innings of 54 runs in 35 balls. Andrew Tye took only 3 wickets in the bowling. Daniel Hughes scored the highest 42 runs for Sydney Sixers, the other batsmen proved to be flops.

Let us tell you that Perth Scorchers have won the Big Bash League title for the fourth time. At the same time, Sydney Sixers won this title three times. However, now Perth Scorchers have defeated Sydney to become the most successful team in the league. Perth Scorchers won the Big Bash League in the years 2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17, now, in the 2021-22 season, they have again achieved the distinction of becoming the champion. In the last two seasons, Perth’s team was out after performing poorly in the league stage itself. In the last season, Perth’s team was at number six and before that at number 8.

In the title match, the team of Perth Scorchers came out to bat first. The team had a very poor start. Opener Curtis Patterson was out in the second over. After this, Josh Inglis also settled for 13 runs in the fifth over. Perth’s biggest match winners Mitchell Marsh and Colin Munro were dismissed in the sixth over. In the first 6 overs, Perth lost their four wickets for just 25 runs. After this it seemed that Sydney Sixers would win this match easily but captain Ashton Turner and especially Laurie Evans batted vigorously and counter-attacked the Sixers. Evans and captain Turner turned the game and added 104 runs in 59 balls for the fifth wicket. Evans scored a half-century in just 25 balls and Turner completed his half-century in 32 balls. Turner was out after half-century but Evans took Tick Perth to the crease till the end to reach a mammoth score of 171 runs.

Sydney Sixers had landed in the title match without many of its match winners due to Corona and had to bear the brunt of it. The hero of the last match was dismissed for just 2 runs by Hayden. After this, Danian Hughes played some great shots but Sydney’s middle order collapsed like a pack of cards. Captain Henriques 7, Christian was dismissed for 3 runs. Shaun Abbott could only score 1 run. Daniel Hughes also lost his wicket for 42 runs. Sydney’s team was bundled out for just 92 runs in 16.2 overs and Perth won the BBL title for the fourth time.