India won the 3rd ODI. (Source: BCCI)

India finally got a consolation win against Australia on this tour after beating the hosts in by 13 runs in Canberra in the third ODI of the three-match sereis. Australia had already taken an unassailable lead after winning the first two matches while India won this last game.

Opting to bat first, India made a few changes in the line up. Shubman Gill got an opportunity replacing Mayank Agarwal at the opening slot while Natarajan made his ODI debut for the side. Shardul Thakur too found a place for himself in the XI.

India rode on some fine batting display from Ravindra Jadeja, captain Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya to post 302/5 in 50 overs. While Kohli struck 63 and became the fastest batsman to score 12000 ODI runs, Jadeja and Pandya remained unbeaten at 66 and 92 respectively.

The visiting side were 152/5 when Hardik and Jadeja joined hands to put a stand of 150 runs for the sixth wicket. In reply, Natarajan scalped an early wicket of Marnus Labuschagne while Steve Smith too departed early. But captain Aaron Finch continued his form and scored yet another half-century before getting dismissed for 75 by Jadeja.

Australia then lost a few wickets before Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey and later Ashton Agar tried to steady the ship for the home side. Maxwell and Carey put up 52 runs for the sixth wicket before the wicket-keeper batsman departed for 38. Later, Maxwell was joined by Agar and the two stitched a stand of 58 runs before Maxwell was cleaned up by Bumrah.

Natarajan too made a decent comeback after giving away 17 runs in his 8th over and dismissed Agar for 28. Later, Shardul Thakur removed Sean Abbott while Bumrah got rid of Adam Zampa to bowl out Australia for 289.

Natarajan and Bumrah picked up a couple of wickets each while Thakur returned with a three-for.

The two sides will now begin the T20I series from Friday at the same venue.